Round 5: I’m Positive; I’m a Liar

I’m sure many of you have seen the blog post “Let’s Stop the Glorification of Busy” on Huffington Post. I remember reading it earlier this year and immediately feeling embarrassed, because I am the person the post is describing. I am completely guilty of replying that I’m “SO busy” or “SO tired” whenever anyone asks me how I am. Just because it’s true doesn’t mean you have to say it at any given opportunity. It makes you look like a miserable grump — and no one wants to converse or hang out with a miserable grump. I didn’t even realize I was doing it until this this post so aptly pointed it out.

Since reading this post, I have made a conscious effort to stop telling anyone who will listen about how busy or tired I am, regardless of how well I know them. I don’t say that I am ABOLUTELY FANTASTIC when I’m feeling overwhelmed and exhausted, but I try not to be a complete Debbie Downer. That being said, it still always makes me feel like such a liar. Most of the time, I’m not feeling “great” or “awesome,” though I continually say that I am to people at work or people I run into that I haven’t seen in a while.

Lying for politeness is a generally accepted practice. No one tells their coworker they hardly know that their outfit is terrible when they ask. You don’t ditch out on plans because you’re tired and don’t feel like it, so you make up a more polite excuse not to go.

Is it justifiable to put up a façade for people so you don’t seem negative, even if you’re completely lying? What do you think?

Article source: http://www.huffingtonpost.ca/melissa-ramos/being-busy_b_4295970.html

Leave a comment